Kata and Okinawan Folk Dancing

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
One of the things I started learning about when I moved to Hawaii was Hula and Lua. My wife and daughter are part of a halau and regularly dance, and I'm part of a dojo that incorporated Lua into the system. They don't teach real Lua to haoles out here. It turns out that the connection between the two arts is more then cultural, it's technical. A lua practitioner starts with hula to learn footwork, hip movement, and body control. They also learn the basic esoteric principles associated with the martial art through the practice of hula.

This got me thinking about karate and Okinawan Folk Dancing. Rob Redmond wrote a book, Kata: The Folk Dances of Shotokan, so this isn't a new idea. Here's an example of an Okinawan Folk Dance that I found.

I can see lots of cross over movements in this dance.

This one is labeled as a Folk Dance, but it looks like a bo kata to me.

So, how deep is the connection? Is the connection cultural in the sense that they resemble each other because of the shared culture, or is their an actual technical connection between the two like the connection between Hula and Lua.

Last edited by a moderator:

Tez3

Sr. Grandmaster
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I believe the word kata is not a specific martial arts word but is a general word used for movements, geishas practice katas for their dances. I don't see any resemblance in the first video to martial arts kata, it resembles a lot of Asian dances however, movements from India, Nepal, Thailand etc. I think if you wanted to, you could find movements that could be from martial arts in many differnet types of dance if you really tried.

OP
Makalakumu

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score