Is medical training important in self-defense?

Jared Traveler

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
I posted on another thread about one of the cuttings I worked when I was a police officer. I worked in an active part of town when I was doing patrol. One night I worked 5 cuttings in a 10 hour shift. Lots of blood.

Anyways, I was wondering for those who specializes in knife attacks and defense, or weapons disarms, is medical training a mandatory component of being well rounded in your discipline?

Because I travel at times to places with either zero or very questionable medical facilities, medical is important to me. My whole family has completed the militaries TCCC program. I completed the additional Combat Provider course.

This was a significant investment, but it's a comfort to me that everyone can provide self-aid and buddy aid.

While training in triage, care under fire, rescue carries, tourniquet conversations, chest seals, needle decompressions, and tracheostomies, maybe be beyond what most people will learn, certainly basic "stop the bleeding" could be critical post event.

In my opinion any system focused on self-defense should at least include stop the bleeding and, treatment for shock. Probably a few rescue carries also.

What are your guys thoughts or experience regarding this?

Buka

Sr. Grandmaster
Staff member
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I think it's very important, personally. We would have first aid seminars at least twice a year. Usually two or three nights long.

We'd hire the the instructors, out of pocket, and not charge the students but encourage them to come.(sometimes make them.)

We only used EMTs. To me, if there's an emergency, I want the EMTs to come save my worthless butt, nobody else.

isshinryuronin

Master of Arts
Reaction score
I think it's very important, personally.