I'm Looking for A Weapon Art for Supplementation

M

MartialArtist

Something with escrimas / short sticks, knife fighting and how to at least attempt to defend against them unarmed, handgun removal, and with a lot of staff and sword fighting.

I have experience in handguns as in quick draws, match shooting, and IPDA. However, I have received the bare minimum which I don't think is enough. I have some staff and sword experience and was pretty good at it, but I want to pick this up for more of a recreation thing again. I also think it can't hurt to be familiar with short sticks.

Currently, I'm looking at arnis and kendo or kumdo.

OP
O

ob2c

A lot of the TKD schools around here train in Arnis as well. It fits well with TKD, fills in a lot of the holes and adds flow. It is a good art. You probably already know that the principles, concepts and moves translate directly to a variety of weapons, including bladed, and to empty hands. It is effective and relatively easy to learn and adapt to other arts. I'd say it's a good choice for adding to TKD, and other arts as well. I just attended an Arnis seminar given by Datu Kelly Worden, and it was a lot of fun. I'm starting to work out a little with some of the Arnisedores myself.

OP
R

Rob_Broad

Originally posted by MartialArtist
Something with escrimas / short sticks, knife fighting and how to at least attempt to defend against them unarmed, handgun removal, and with a lot of staff and sword fighting.

I have experience in handguns as in quick draws, match shooting, and IPDA. However, I have received the bare minimum which I don't think is enough. I have some staff and sword experience and was pretty good at it, but I want to pick this up for more of a recreation thing again. I also think it can't hurt to be familiar with short sticks.

Currently, I'm looking at arnis and kendo or kumdo.