How to toughen up or condition wrists and forearms?

SapphireStar

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I'm new to martial arts, having only started about 2 months ago. I am studying Tai-Chi, but also Southern Mantis boxing. I love both! :ultracool

Yesterday I went to another facility to try out a women's self-defense course. I ended up unusually sore in the wrists from being grabbed and held more than usual. That's never a problem in TC or SMB.

I'm wondering if anyone has any ideas to toughen up or condition my wrists and forearms?

I love SMB and am not giving it up. I don't want to be a delicate little violet, but I do have to be a bit careful with my hands because of my job. Can't really use any kind of hand guards or wraps in practice because I need to feel the pressure of the opponent's wrists.

Teacher has a wonderful dit da jow that I've used and I also have an herbal arnica gel that works well when applied before and after class. Ice after practice if needed.

This is a great site and I'm amazed at how much there is to learn here. I love reading the whole board and thank everyone for their contributions. :)

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Have you asked your teacher if he has any suggestions? Alas I do not have any suggestions on how to toughen..As you train more your body becomes accustomed to it and you wont be as sore..If ya need strenght exercises for the wrist and forarms, those I got..

SensibleManiac

Black Belt
Reaction score
Try push ups on your knuckles, that and Kettlebell exercises like the clean and jerk, among others.

OP
S

SapphireStar

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Drac - I have not checked with teacher yet, I will do so this coming week.

SensibleManiac - That is a wonderful idea! I had to look it up to see how they are done, and discovered I can do these against a wall to start. Doesn't cause any pain at all.