high school wrestling

sendo

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
well im a senior in high school and i regret not doing many things during my freshman -> junior year...my college resume is extremely empty (2 activities >.<).....im thinking of doing a winter sport this year (volleyball in the summer) and that sport is wrestling.....the problem is, im really nervous about how my matches are gunna be like and whether or not i make it to varsity since its my first year....also i was wondering if it was worth doing (college-wise and experience-wise)....this would be my first year doing wrestling so i dont have much experience at all.....wrestling takes up alot of time and i dont think ill be able to keep up with school....im stuck between 3 options:

A) do wrestling and have my gpa drop
B) dont do wrestling and raise my gpa
C) do wrestling and raise my gpa (not likely to happen)

i really wanna do wrestling so if i go with option A then im gunna try extremely hard to be state champ so then if i drop my gpa it wouldnt really look THAT bad...

wrestling season doesnt start until the end of november so i have until then to decide

btw im 5'4 (small asian) and i weigh around 110lbs

any advice please?

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score
If you haven't wrestled before the odds of you "being a state champ" as a senior are about nil. My guess is you'll spend your practices getting smoked on the mat, and being frustrated. Size doesn't mean much in wrestling is determined by weight classes. If you want something similar try a jiu-jitsu or judo school where you will be paired with other beginners.

Lamont

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score