High School Wrestling

glen37

White Belt
Reaction score
I'm currently a freshman in High School and next year I'm going to do wrestling. Does anyone have any technique guides or instructional vids that I could practice to be ready?

P.S. Are armbars allowed in HS wrestling?

thaitanium

White Belt
Reaction score
there's an armbar for wrestling but its totaly different compared to a bjj armbar i suggest practicing single and double leg takedowns and your sprawl..

bushidomartialarts

Senior Master
Reaction score
go out for cross country in the fall.

most of your opponents will be football players. if you do xc while they're playing ball, you'll have an acre of wind on them.

matt.m

Senior Master
Reaction score
Bushido has a great idea,

I ran CC in the fall and wrestled after. It was great training. Look to get ready do a ton of bridging, pullups and shrugs. I eventually wrestled and did judo for the Marine Corps. Without a strong back you are done.

Get some stuff by dan gable. Just do conditioning and worry about the rest in practice for the two a days.

good luck

OP
G

glen37

White Belt
Reaction score
Thanks for the advice guys, I'm already starting a running schedule to work my way up to 5 miles a day.

crushing

Grandmaster
Reaction score
My eldest son is a freshman in high school and a wrestler. And if I may. . . He took fourth in the city tournament this weekend! Yeah.

Back to your questions --

I found this website with some techniques and other information that you may find helpful.

http://www.themat.com/ncep.php?page=ta

Also, here is a magazine. I haven't read it, so I don't know how good it is, but they do have a sample issue online.

http://www.wrestlingusa.com/

You may also find this High School in Michigan's website useful:

http://eup.k12.mi.us/saultwrestling/

Also

http://www.essortment.com/hobbies/highschoolwres_tqwj.htm