Need help with sparring equipment

A

Aleem

Hi,

I've been doing wingtsun for about 6 months. Me and a friend have been thinking for a while now, of doing some light/med sparring... I was wondering if anyone could give advice on whether something like this helmet would be a good choice or not.

http://www.ukfitnesssupplies.co.uk/mall/productpage.cfm/UKFitnessSuppliesLtd/124%2D008S/55795

Its just that at the moment, when practicing partner drills + techniques we have to go quite slow because a mistake and a missed paksau could result in a very painful/bloody nose.

Oh and also, thinking of buying a vest (one of them tkd types)... anyone got any advice?

Thanks a lot,

Aleem

ed-swckf

Black Belt
Reaction score
sparring isn't the most important thing in your training at the moment but if its what you want to do then do it right. We use helmets similar to that and some padded gloves and some body armour. We also use cricket pads with extra padding for leg work, theres no protection for the knock your ego may take when you don't fair as well as you first thought you would except for understanding between you and your partner, its still training and try not to be disheartened by any wake up calls you recieve. Keep it light and relaxed, relaxtion is the key throughout your training so hopefully sparring won't tense you up and done right it won't. Have fun.

achilles

Green Belt
Reaction score
How does one go about freesparring in wing chun? Do you start at long range or close quarters? I've heard about people breaking out of chi sao into sparring, although I think that defeats the purpose of the drill to some extent. How similar would it be to boxing? kickboxing? point karate? Any information you are willing to share would be greatly appreciated.

7starmantis

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score