hi all couple of questions

bradtash

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
i have been doing muay thai for the last 6 months roughly and did hapkido for a few months before that.
however due to moving i am no longer able to continue these due to where i am located.
i have seen a wing chun school, i once did 1 lesson in this but chose hapkido over it as it was closer.

i have a few questions about wing chun,

first of all i have been told by a few people not to do it as it is only for slappers and not effective in real life. i know that there is great hand speed involved, but does this outweigh powerful strikes?
secondly i read somewhere that you need to do wing chun for 3 years before you became decent at it. i read that someone who did it for over a year could not "hold his own" against other fighters.
and thirdly are there many or any katas involved? if so are they like a dance routine? i know that sounds weird but when i did hapkido i noticed that alot of our katas involved more dancing moves rather then usefull techniques. i know that they all had a place somewhere but at one stage there was clapping and jumping involved.

i am not writing this to bag out wing chun at all, i really want to do it. but just had to get ease of mind before i joined the club. i read and hear so many conflicting things about everything in the internet so thought i should ask actual practioners rather then average people who are making stuff up.

Domino

Black Belt
Reaction score
i have been doing muay thai for the last 6 months roughly and did hapkido for a few months before that.
however due to moving i am no longer able to continue these due to where i am located.
i have seen a wing chun school, i once did 1 lesson in this but chose hapkido over it as it was closer.

i have a few questions about wing chun,