Group Test vs. Private Testing

prm2770

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
As an Instructor I am trying to see the logic between the two types of testing. In my school we do group tests divided by age. Grasshoppers are 4,5 6yr, Jr's 7-11 yr, Youth 12-16, adult 17 up. I have approximately 70 students at any given time and at each promotion test I tend to only recommend 20-40 students depending on whether or not they are ready.

So now I get to the reason for my post. As THE Instructor with only one assistant I see these students 6 days a week. I know there abilities, strengths & weaknesses etc. In my eyes the large group test is more of a demonstration rather than a test. The simple fact of me handing you your test paper and saying you are ready warrants a passing grade. That being said I would like to implement private testing somehow so that I can give more individualized feedback. If I do this then should I do away with the large group test where I recommend you for test and in place let anyone who thinks they are ready pay the test fee sign up for the time and grade them then and there? Any ideas on the two different types of test? or ways to have both? Maybe just some discussion on testing in general.

Thanks for any feedback!

FLTKD

White Belt
Reaction score