Greetings from Canada's West Coast

Coyotetracks

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey all.

I'm new to this forum and thought I would introduce myself.
I live up on the west coast of Canada, in British Columbia and have been interested in
martial arts for years. I studied Judo for a couple of years as a youth and in later years spent time learning
in a Karate dojo. I guess I was still searching because eventually I moved on and spent some time learning
Kung Fu skills at a studio in Vancouver. However life went on and with things like school, career and family I ended up
wandering away from active practice.

Now years later, in my early 50's, I find myself drawn back towards the idea of active practice again. Interestingly enough I have always been
powerfully drawn to Tai Chi and have never actively gone looking for instruction. When I was in my early teens I was befriended by an elderly
Chinese gentleman who, in addition to being a great overall role model for a scruffy mixed blood Native kid like myself (grin), he also fascinated me when he would do his Tai Chi forms in the local park. He showed me a few moves, but that was long ago.

So here I am, years out of practice, humbly admitting to not knowing very much at all, and looking to once again find my way back ;-)

I am in good physical condition for the most part and was looking for instruction in my local area - however I recently moved out of the city and find that the only instruction offered up here is the Taoist Tai Chi Society whom I have heard teach a non martial form of the art. I am not particularly interested in learning this 'softer' form so much as I would be into learning an actual way of self defense.

Anyway it was during my search for more information about Tai Chi that I found my way to this forum. Thanks to the admins for adding me.

I hope to learn much here.

Regards

Jack

seasoned

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score