Gracie Jiu-Jitsu differences ???

patroldawg27

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hi,

I searched the forum and can't seem to find this (maybe it's been said before....I dunno since I'm a black belt in TKD but a white belt on the computer!). I should be moving to Los Angeles in the next few months and I'm looking to learn Gracie Jiu-Jitsu. I see that Rorian Gracie has the Gracie Academy in Torrance and Rickson has his school in West LA. I also know around here Renzo has a school in Midtown Manhattan. So basically my question is this. What are the differences if any in the style of Jiu-Jitsu taught in these schools? Is all Gracie Jiu-Jitsu the same? Also has anyone ever been to Rorian or Rickson's school? Do Rorian or Rickson teach many of the classes? I was wondering which was "better" so to speak as far as learning environment, cost, class sizes, etc....

Thank you in advance for any help you can send my way. I have very little knowledge in the grappling arts but am eager to learn.

Nick

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
patroldawg27 said:
Hi,

I searched the forum and can't seem to find this (maybe it's been said before....I dunno since I'm a black belt in TKD but a white belt on the computer!). I should be moving to Los Angeles in the next few months and I'm looking to learn Gracie Jiu-Jitsu. I see that Rorian Gracie has the Gracie Academy in Torrance and Rickson has his school in West LA. I also know around here Renzo has a school in Midtown Manhattan. So basically my question is this. What are the differences if any in the style of Jiu-Jitsu taught in these schools? Is all Gracie Jiu-Jitsu the same? Also has anyone ever been to Rorian or Rickson's school? Do Rorian or Rickson teach many of the classes? I was wondering which was "better" so to speak as far as learning environment, cost, class sizes, etc....

Thank you in advance for any help you can send my way. I have very little knowledge in the grappling arts but am eager to learn.

Nick