Footwork

Nicholas82555

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Have you ever notice this difference in WT VT WT (whatever) footwork? I guess in the end it come down to a personal preference.

I visited a Kenneth Chung school, Leung Ting and viewed tapes on WSL. Of all the footwork, I found the LT to be restrictive in mobility, not only dragging the rear leg but placing all the weight on the rear leg. I think this would be a disadvantage esp. if you're face mobile opponent (ie boxer).

yak sao

Senior Master
Reaction score
I've been training in the WT system for 15 years now.
Initially I was like ' how in the #$%! am I supposed to be able to move with this footwork, let alone fight with it?".....but after some good old fashioned hard work I now find it very natural and it makes total sense from a fighting standpoint....single or multiple opponents.

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Nicholas, I'm with Yak on this. The back weighted WT stance is tough to assimilate, but if you figure it out and train hard enough to make it work for you, there are definite pay-offs. Like you pointed out in your thread, Building a Solid Foundation, you have to "resist the temptation of instant gratification..." and give "attention to detail, commitment and perseverance..." if you want to make it work. And even so, frankly it's not for everybody. But if you get it down, you move like the king on the chess board... easily stepping in any direction... for a short distance. If you want to cover longer ranges, there are other stepping methods. But they are not the foundation.

That said, I'm also a firm believer in there being "more than one way to skin a cat". I have to be, since I have a bone fusion in my ankle from an old injury that makes it necessary for me to deviate from the "ideal". Basically, you just have to adapt. Good luck in your training.

mook jong man

Senior Master
Reaction score