European Fencing Compared to Oriental Fencing.

O

Old Warrior

Originally posted by arnisador
Would you start a thread comparing European and Oriental fencing? Please don't demure on the grounds that you're not an expert--I have studied neither (I did take iaido for a while) but am curious to hear them contrasted!

I am an expert in Epee Fencing, but my 3 months in Kumdo, hardly gives me the right to comment. However, I have already formed definite opinions on this subject.

A comparison lies, first, with an understanding of the weapon. An Epee is a triangular shaped blade whose serious part is only the tip. A 3' piece of triangular steel would pentrate the human body with virtually no force and would easily kill. The sport version is somewhat more flexible and has a blunted tip, about 1/4" wide that is a round plunger type electrical switch (like a door bell).

All of the techniques take into consideration the flexibility of the blade, the physics of the interaction of wider parts of the blade on the tapering end and the fact that only the tip is dangerous. Of course, in a real fight, grabbing the blade would be an obvious choice and using the unarmed hand, knees, elbows etc. excellent choices when in close. The one rule that puts the sport in touch with reality is that the entire body is an acceptable target. Clearly if a Epee went though your hand the pain would effect your ongoing ability to fight.

The only comparison to Kumdo is that the weapon and the rules create the same issues. The Katana (sport version a Jukdo /Shinai) is both a slashing and thrusting weapon. But, the only target areas are the head/throat, wrist and abdomen. This means that there is no proximity to real combat where a strike to the arm, shoulder, leg etc., would end the confrontation.