Ears

jthomas1600

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Does any do anything (short of wearing head gear) to preserve the integrity of your ears? I ask because I seem to be more susceptible to cauliflower ears than most people. I grappled for about 1.5 years back around 2005 and buggered my left ear up a little. I've recently started again and already my left ear is getting worse. I don't mind too much except it seems like a misrepresentation for a guy with such limited experience and mediocre skills to look like I've got a lifetime of hard core grappling behind me.

Steve

Mostly Harmless
Reaction score
I've been training in BJJ for over four years and have just a little on my right ear. Most people don't notice it. A friend who started at about the same time as I did has ears that look like gyoza.

Everyone's different. As you say, if you're prone to cauliflower, you're just in trouble. Unless you go to the doctor. There is a procedure where they can repair cauliflower damage even if you've let it go, but from what I've seen, if you're prone to it and you keep training, it will just come back.

So, I guess based on my experience, I'd say that there's not much you can do other than to protect yourself with good headgear.

Bruno@MT

Senior Master
Reaction score
I heard that draining the fluid right after the swelling prevents it from solidifying into cauliflower ear. Can't vouch for that though.

Steve

Mostly Harmless
Reaction score
I heard that draining the fluid right after the swelling prevents it from solidifying into cauliflower ear. Can't vouch for that though.
From my experience, draining it just just kind of fun. It does take the fluid out, but unless you use some kind of compression to keep the ear from filling back up, it's really more symbolic than anything, and will actually prolong the healing process.

Most guys I know don't like to go to the doctor because when they put the compression on the ear they tell you not to train until it's fully healed.