Do any of you incorporate weight training into your Wing Chun?

koenig

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I think weight training is a necessary component of martial arts development but a lot of purists are 100% anti-weight lifting.

What are your opinions?

almost a ghost

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I've been practicing Wing Chun for close to 8 years, the past 6 of those I have been going to the gym and lifting weights.

I've never experienced a problem with it affecting my wing chun, and quite frankly I do it to combat a sit-on-your-butt 9-5 job does.

Seeker

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I think weight lifting is a great supplement to any physical activity. As long as you don't confuse strength training with body building. If you want to get stronger, stick with strength training, do compound exercises over isolation.

Or heck, just do kettlebells. :)

Nabakatsu

Brown Belt
Reaction score
I've never done any of these techniques, and have no idea about their validity but.. it seems to be on topic and may help at least give ya some ideas!

Last edited by a moderator:

mook jong man

Senior Master
Reaction score
I don't do it to help my Wing Chun I do it to stay alive , I have hereditary high blood pressure and if I don't watch it I will end up with diabetes too.

I also do kettle bells lots of swings and snatches , pull ups and chin ups , hanging leg raises for the gut and sometimes free weights . I don't think it makes you slow as long as you don't go mad and lift maximal weights trying to get a body builder typ of body , the Bruce Lee type of physique is what I try to aim for , and I might just get there if liposuction were to suddenly come down in price.

yak sao

Senior Master
Reaction score
I do pull ups ( several variations,) pushups (several variations) and body weight squats as my main workout and supplement these with dumbells.

Example: Mon: the above body weight exercises plus DB bench press,
one arm rowing and what ever other chest