DIY Kubotan A Felony???

Psilent Knight

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Hey guys,

After watching a youtube video on a fun looking DIY project (kubotan type keychain) someone suggested that you may be committing a Felony by taking an ordinary marker and turning it into a...... weapon....even if your intention is to simply make a keychain. What the heck!!! :confused:

Does anyone here definitively know anything about this (and by definitely I mean based on an actual case experience instead of mere conjecture)?

I posted the video below:

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
First, I am not a lawyer, this is not legal advice.

Second, any advice you get from anyone online, including myself, is worth exactly nothing. Do you suppose you could defend yourself in court by printing out this thread and saying "But your honor, Bobaloo2000 said clearly that this was totally legit and legal, so you have to let me go!" Good luck with that.

Third, there is no 'definitive' with regard to what you're describing.

Fourth, any of the types of pocket weapons are more or less crap. Why are they crap? Not because they can't be used, not because they can't be effective. But because you won't train with them enough to be able to use them as actual effective weapons. Nope. You'll play with it a bit, put your keys on it, shove it in your pocket, and think you now have a magic wand to protect you from evil. You don't. What you have is something that makes bad guys laugh, right before they pound you into the ground, take your wallet and car keys, and probably spit on your body a couple times as they walk away. Sound harsh? Go ahead, buy one of these things. Six months from now, tell me HONESTLY if you did anything except what I just said. You will not train with it. Therefore it is yet another worthless magic toy.