Defense against round punch

Orion Nebula

Green Belt
Reaction score
About 15 - 16 years ago, I studied a style of karate that used some aikido-like defenses and throws in addition to the typical strikes and blocks of karate. The dojo also had an aikido class on Wednesday nights.

There is a particular move I learned that I am trying to remember. Because it was so long ago, I can't remember if it was in the karate class or aikido class. It was a defense against a round/hook punch. The idea was to sort of catch the arm with two hands and redirect it in a circular motion. I think it then involved turning and stepping under the opponent's arm, which then put you in the position to throw them forwards. However, it's all very hazy and there were several defenses that worked similarly.

Does this sound familiar to anyone and does anyone have a link to a video demonstrating it?

Gweilo

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Hapkido has similar techniques to Aikido as they are born from the same place, the throw you discribed sounds like a figure 4 throw in Hapkido, however there are several step under the arm and throw techniques some with the butterfly catch. I dug through my old vids (it was some time ago) and the videos I have are analogue and crap quality, there are plenty on you tube, but be careful there are plenty of mickey mouse nut jobs on there.

jobo

Grandmaster
Reaction score
About 15 - 16 years ago, I studied a style of karate that used some aikido-like defenses and throws in addition to the typical strikes and blocks of karate. The dojo also had an aikido class on Wednesday nights.