Curious about Judo

PiedmontChun

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Background: I have no grappling experience, I have just a couple years of Wing Chun Kung Fu under my belt, which is predominantly efficient striking and touch reflex / sensitivity only, with a lot of clinch range work but minimal sweep, throws, and locks. Judo intrigues me and I think it could complement a striking art very well, even just for self-defense. I found a school that is only minutes from my house, led by a 2nd Dan Sensei and part of the American Traditional Jujutsu Association. They do very affordable per-class pricing and have class times that seem like they'd work pretty well for me, so I feel like I could give it a go and see how I like it, and take a break from my Wing Tsun which from a money, time, and travel standpoint actually has been challenging (there is growing pressure from the wife and I might need to take a break when our next child comes soon).

Since my fight training so far is pretty limited to being upright and striking, I think I like how Judo could maybe stretch me in terms of learning to fall, use different stances, footwork, make me more rounded.

I'm a big guy, 6' and 240 pounds (though I would like to lose 20-30). Is being a big a problem in Judo, making it harder on training partners or anything?

Is taking a 1.5 hour class once a week more of just a fun outlet, or can it build actual skill even if pretty gradually?

Is there anything I should be concerned about in terms of what to look for or avoid?

Monkey Turned Wolf

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
So to answer the three questions at the bottom: