Is Sambo a good base for Judo?

KyleShort

Green Belt
Reaction score
Hi All,

I have no judo experience, although I have read several books and know the rules, techniques and terminology. Also, I have several years experience in the striking arts and a few years of grappling, throwing and ukemi in the bujinkan (I know the are huge differences between bujinkan and Judo).

Anyway, I have always been interested in training judo as a complement to my primary striking arts, but the closest school is 45 minutes away and that just won't work with my current schedule. However, I now have the opportunity to regularly train in Sambo and I was wondering if there would be value in doing so. Would training in Sambo give me a good base to work from later on when I am able to take up Judo?

I don't know nearly as much about Sambo as I do about Judo, but I have heard that they are similar...perhaps more emphasis on newaza (especially leglocks) in Sambo.

Thanks in advance,

bignick

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
sambo is a good art...and i don't see why you couldn't use it as your supplement for your striking...instead of using it as a stepping stone to judo...stick with it and see what it has to offer

OP
KyleShort

KyleShort

Green Belt
Reaction score
Thanks for your thoughts!

Every art has it's merits, but my interests are more holistic. I have studied(scholastically) Judo to a good degree and I have a strong desire to train in it, which is partially rooted in my interests in Japanese budo (aren't we all). To an even greater degree I love the simplicity of Judo, and therin lies the rich complexity of the art. I have no such interest in the cultural foundations of Sambo.

So what I do wonder is whether or not there is a strong translations of techniques, body mechanics and concepts between the two arts.

bignick

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score