Class Sizes

K

Koga-Shinobi

I have a question for you: Does the size of a class reflect at all the quality of the MA been tought there??

Stupid question maybe, but to a beginner I ask it because of this. I've been looking to start a MA for a while now, and been doing some scouting around. Some of the classes I've seen have only 8-14 people training whereas others have 20-30. Is it fair to be suspect of a place that only has a handful of students (even thought they do have positive affiliation to both national and international federations?)

Personally, I'm wary of a small class in that the number of opponents is limited to train against, and Im concerned that a small class may indicate a poor teacher...being a beginner, I wouldnt know.

Any insights would be appreciated :))

Zoran

Black Belt
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Quality does not equal quantity. The number of students does not reflect the quality of instruction. A small student base could be because; bad business sense, instructor could be picky on who he excepts as a student, doesn't care about the money, and etc.

Look to the instructor and watch the students. The latter could tell a lot about the instructor.

Damian Mavis

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Ya size of class doesn't mean doodoo. Some of my classes have 30 people in them and some only 6. As for whats better for you.. it can go either way, the large class could have lots of great training partners that really encourage and help you and the small class could give the instructor more time to really focus on your learning.

Damian Mavis
Honour TKD

OP
C

c2kenpo

Yeah class size has meaning just hard to say what it really means.
Some of our classes depending on times can be from 5-10 students to we clocked a whopping 46 yellowbelt kids. Of course we had 4 instructors on the floor at the time.