Class Payment question

bydand

Senior Master
Reaction score
O.K. to start things off I am not complaining really, but, I do have a questiion of ethics sort-of. My Sensei is also my brother and the Turkey refuses to accept payment for training from me. Most of his other students pay every month (Some don't because they "trade" work for training). I feel kind of odd training for nothing even though he is related. We both swap work with each other (He's a plumber, I'm an electrician) but have never kept track of actual hours or anything. I only bring this up in this forum because of the number of instructors here. What would be something that every school needs on a regular basis that I could "pick-up" for him? I want to be fair to him, after all he is my brother and my Sensei and he has worked hard to open his own school, and even harder to keep it open. Any thoughts??????????

Thanks everybody in advance, I am at a loss here.

Brian R. VanCise

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
It is good that you realize that you owe him something special! First you should train very, very hard to show your appreciation for what he is doing for you. Then maybe, you can look around the Dojo and see what it could use. Maybe extra mats, weapon racks, etc. I bet your brother would be thrilled if you were to help him out in that manner. Good luck!

Brian R. VanCise
www.instinctiveresponsetraining.com

TigerWoman

Senior Master
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I think I would feel the same way about some kind of repayment if I were also a student beside a sister (in my case). But I also would not require my sister to pay me either. (as that can get into hard feelings when something isn't repaid).

So, I would slowly buy mats-those puzzle mats are 4 a pack and every school seems to need them. I bought them for my school because of my wear and tear on my joints. They have benefited everyone. Just a thought. TW

still learning

Senior Master
Reaction score