Cirularity

PBMaster

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
A question for Ed Parker practioners. I am a San Soo Instructor. I have read several of Ed's books and find some similarities with stance work done in both our arts. This probably due to the fact that both are Chinese in origin.

I am curious whether the flow through your stances, i.e. neutral bow stance to left bow stance is circular in nature. This as opposed to linear in movement.

That is, does the rolling of the hip and flexing of the forward knee follow the angulation of the forward foot, cutting circular symetrical paths, or is the motion of the body, hip and knee, oblique to the front foot and present as a kind of bias.

For the most part in San Soo, things are pretty natural and circular.
Is this Kenpo's goal also.

PB

Michael Billings

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
It depends on application and intent. We use the twist stance usually in transitions, but could use the circular movement if we were attempting to destabalize or throw.

This is a very limited response obviously. The old Twisted Horse stance is taught, but not called anything except a Right or Left; Front or Rear, Twist Stance. You could excute a right front twist stance as a sweep, or for rotation as you twist or untwist. Or you could sweep back and around as part of a buckle or evasion.

-Michael

OP
PBMaster

PBMaster

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Thank you for your responce. Yes. I can visualize what you are saying.

My question really goes to whether most of movements have an innate, circular quality or if the movements are executed in a strickly linear sense.

As an example, I observed hand-arm combinations being delivered by a practitioner in a Japanese system. The patterns were similar to those found in my system. However, their movements were short, linear and very fast with a limited amount of body movement. This went beyond the differences between artists and more to the stylistic nature of that art.