'Chu Tai Chi' in New York - anyone have opinions?

Zorlio

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm interested in taking up tai chi lessons and I was looking up some places in NYC and was wondering if anyone has any info on Chu Tai Chi http://www.chutaichi.com/ or on master C.K. Chu?
I'm pretty new to the tai chi scene so I'll take suggestions of other places in NYC (yang or chen).

thanks

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
I do not know anything about the school you have provided the link for and the only people in the NYC area that I know anything about and would recommend are Ren Guanyi who teachers Chen Style and Alex Dong who teaches Dong (Tung) Style, Yang Style and possibly Hao Style.

However I am sure there are more and there are some on MT that are in the NYC area that may be able to give you more information.

pete

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
hi Zorlio, welcome to the wonderful world of tai chi... i teach on long island and know of a couple of good options in manhattan. I'll PM you.

pete.

OP
Z

Zorlio

White Belt
Reaction score
thanks for the replies

Speaking of William C.C. Chen, on the "Chu Tai Chi" website, it says that Master C.K. Chu studied with William C.C. Chen and then assisted teaching in his school.

(I dunno why I'm so focused on the chutaichi place; maybe it's the great website layout)

here's a clip: http://mefeedia.com/entry/master-ck-chu-yang-short-form/6711256/
how does it look, good/bad/mediocre?

East Winds

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
Why does he keep looking down!!! Its a martial art, he should be looking at his opponent!!! Looking down means no high spirit. But then thats one of the things I dislike about Chen Man-ching form.

Very best wishes

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
thanks for the replies

Speaking of William C.C. Chen, on the "Chu Tai Chi" website, it says that Master C.K. Chu studied with William C.C. Chen and then assisted teaching in his school.