tai chi and Christian beliefs

C

chiro4

I'm new to the martial arts. I was looking at different schools and have not decided what to take up. I came across tai chi. I know that Tai chi does some meditation. Is this meditation against the Christian belief system? I have also heard that there is combat tai chi. Could anybody tell me what this is all about? In combat do they use striking, kicking. joint locks etc? How long does it take to learn? Is there a belt system as you progress? Could you direct me to any schools in the Buffalo, New York area that does Combat tai chi?

Xequat

Black Belt
Reaction score
Christianity is a broad subject. What particular denomination are we talking? I know a little about Catholicism, and it is very much against worshiping other gods - nature gods, etc, but isn't prayer a type of meditation? I don't believe that working with chi is really considered occult by the Catholic Church, and if so, then I don't agree with it. I'm no priest, but I think you'll be fine. Other faiths like Mormons, Southern Baptists, Methodists, etc I don't know.

TigerWoman

Senior Master
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I think in most cases, it will have to be determined by the availability of different arts in your area. If you have a Tai Chi instructor nearby then just go talk to him. The direct way is probably the best. I don't think for example all Taekwondo instructors do meditation or chi stuff. So neither are all Tai Chi instructors the same in their teaching and viewpoints. Most want all religious backgrounds so they will keep it neutral. My instructor is the extreme. He seems to cultivate Christian fundamentalists and as he gets more, we get more Christian "teaching" in class. I would rather just be taught the TKD that I came for. TW

OP
B

Bushigokoro9

"I'm new to the martial arts."

welcome!

"I know that Tai chi does some meditation."