Choosing techniques to teach in kenposchool

JSK

White Belt
Reaction score
He,

If you want to learn the Ed Parker system and you would be a new teacher setting up a new school i have the following question :

I am not talking as the new teacher but as a starter in the kenposport.
What is the criteria for this teacher to say i do not want to teach all the
techniques.

Or in his opinion some techniques are useless and they are not needed by
the system.

The experts will have the answers and because i am just beginning to
create a vision for myself i let you guys give me the right insight on
this subject.

Thanks,

Jos-hua

HKphooey

Senior Master
Reaction score
JSK said:
He,

If you want to learn the Ed Parker system and you would be a new teacher setting up a new school i have the following question :

I am not talking as the new teacher but as a starter in the kenposport.
techniques.

Or in his opinion some techniques are useless and they are not needed by
the system.

The experts will have the answers and because i am just beginning to
create a vision for myself i let you guys give me the right insight on
this subject.

Thanks,

Jos-hua

You may want to start with this previous thread:
http://www.martialtalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=34907

Hope this helps.

Kenpojujitsu3

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
JSK said:
If you want to learn the Ed Parker system....

....then you don't delete anything as it's really no longer the Ed Parker system.

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
I think a competent teacher should be able to make his own decisions about this, but he should also be honest with the students about it. He should not claim it is the complete or identical system. He should tell the students that it is based on Mr. Parker's kenpo as he learned it from So-and-So, but has various deletions and additions that seemed appropriate to the teacher, based on his own experiences and studies, which may have included studies outside kenpo.