Change of Style

Jai

Black Belt
Reaction score
Greetings all.

For those that may know me on the forums around here I am a TKD black belt. Last March I suffered a fairly serious tendon injury to my ankle. I am looking to get back into MA. I have studied TKD for several years and I am looking to expand. There is a Shotokan school close by I have considered enrolling. Is there anyone out there that partakes in Shotokan? How much leg work is there generally as kicking is a hit and miss with me still. I am looking to enroll as a white belt and learn the entire system. What else could I expect generally? Any help would be great. Thank you.

Bobby135

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Ji Jai,

If TKD is 65% kicking (maybe more) shotokan could be 40%, IMHO. The kicks are not as acrobatic as often see in TKD. I studied Shotokan for a few years, along with other arts. Just as a suggestion I would say look at FMA, I am familiar with Modern Arnis, or Wing Chun. Kicking is very minimal in these arts. Also forms of Small Circle Ju Jitsu or even BJJ could be interesting for you. I would always say to observe some classes and then take a few trial classes.

Hope this helps.

Bobby

OP
Jai

Jai

Black Belt
Reaction score
Bobby,

Thanks for the input. The TKD I studied when I injured my ankle was closer to 85% kicking, and it was sport with all the fancy crap I have come to hate about MA. As much as I would LOVE to study Modern Arnis, Wing Chun, and mostly BJJ, Shotokan is the only other art offered within reasonable distance for me. Again however thank you Bobby for the information, I will for sure go and check out the Shotokan school next week after the holiday.

Margaret Lo

White Belt
Reaction score
Bobby,