Bung Bo Differences?!

ilhe4e12345

Green Belt
Reaction score
So i have been training in 7 Star Praying Mantis for a few years, and i know there are a bunch of people on here that train as well so this is to you. My sifu has been training me in 7 star and i have only been working on 1 Mantis Form at this point (Bung Bo) at this point as my Sifu teaches a little differently then other schools i have seen. He starts off and everyone learns the same basic movements, forms (Long Fist 1-3, 8 Stepping Form), blocks, punches, kicks, weapons until they hit black belt then they go off onto either 7 Star Praying Mantis or Eagle Claw or Long Fist. Anyways my question is this, my Sifu is trying something different with me starting me on the Mantis Forms rather then the typical Long Fist forms due to me being more interested in Mantis over the regular Long Fist style (he is more long fist based and you can tell by how he teachs) but i have only learned the first two roads of Bung Bo up to this point and its strange to me. Is it normal to see so amny differences in the form compared to other 7 Star Mantis Bung Bo's? I have searcheda round the internet and youtube and just watched videos of the form and while most of the form is the same for everyone, there are different parts within the form that are almost completely different then each other or even different then how i learned it myself.