Bung Bu is similar in Wah Lum and CCK Taichi Mantis?

LanJie

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I have read on a number of occasions that Wah Lum's Big Mantis (Their
version of Bung Bu) is very similar to CCK Tai Chi Praying Mantis' Bung
Bu. There are a number of postings on this subject on the Kung Fu
Magazine Forum.

I have been practicing CCK Tai Chi Praying Mantis for over nine years.

I have studied a little Wah Lum in the past and I have never seen
this set myself. It is taught very near to Sifu level in the Wah Lum
system. I was wondering if anyone has seen it or knows of an Internet
video of it.

This clip is almost exactly how Bung Bu was taught to me. This is how I was taught CCK Tai Chi Mantis Bung Bu.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HemoGlneH-s

I was wondering if anyone thinks that it is similar to Big Mantis.

Yours truly,

Steve

P.S. I do remember that there was an endorsement for the Wah Lum Double Broadswords Book by Sigung Chui Chuk Kai. I believe that he said that he met a number of Master Chan's students. I do not know if this has anything to do with anything but it is a small connection between the two mantis styles.

Taiji_Mantis

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hi Steve.
I am a practitioner of Taiji Mantis as well. Though not active for nearly five years (seven children got in the way), I still practice Beng Bu, Gong Li quan, Dan Jap Mei Hua, and Ba Zhou daily. My shifu taught beng bu a little differently than the other schools I have seen videos or demonstrations of. I have found it quite interesting that the forms are taught differently from other CCK TJPM schools to ours.

There are pictures of Shifu Chan with my Shifu, and I hear that Chan's teacher and Shigong were friends. FWIW.

OP
LanJie

LanJie

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Dear Craig,