Bram Frank Seminar In Spokane

Dan Anderson

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I just spent the weekend in Spokane, Washington training in Bram Frank's two day knife seminar. The first day he spent going over his method of teaching knife work, what he calls his modular system. He taught this in Buffalo at the Symposium but here he really had time to do it justice. The second day we worked on training with the Gunting, a knife he based on Filipino blade principles and for use as a self defense tool while closed. Both days were great!

A couple of points I want to send out here:

I have been doing martial arts for almost 37 years now and Modern Arnis for 23 years and I can attest that Bram's knife work comes straight out of Modern Arnis. His work with the Professor really shows but his personal development and reasearch is very evident as well. Where I have really concentrated on the stick side of MA, he has gone full bore on the blade side. He's done his homework and his knowledge is quite deep.

His modular system of teaching knife work is a model of efficient simplicity. His teaching thrust is to get military, corrections officers and security types to get this data in a very fast and easily assimilable way as they will only have 6-12 hours to really get it. Why am I so impressed by it? Well, after 37 years it is expected that I should pick up on it quickly. My wife, Marie, went to the seminar. She has only done a little karate, hasn't trained for 3 years now and hasn't done any stick or knife. She picked up on it fast and got it. This is the mark of an instructor and instructional method!

As both Rich Parsons and Paul Janulis said at the Symposium, you can see the Modern Arnis in what Bram does. I highly recommend any of y'all out there to attend his seminar. Great stuff!

Yours,
Dan Anderson

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Sounds like an excellent seminar!!:D

Mike

B

BRAM

I just got home...a bit jet lagged..