Boxing or American Kickboxing

S-K-K

White Belt
Reaction score
Is boxing or American kickboxing strong? Would a boxer win over a American kickboxer?

BobMc526

White Belt
Reaction score
I studied both forms of boxing for several years when I was a younger man. There is really not a way to answer your question as it was presented. There are too many variable to really compare one style to another. The skill of the fighter, and maybe a little luck, will almost always be the deciding factor in who wins a particular fight. The style of fighting is secondary to that. However, I'll lay out a couple of scenarios with different assumptions that might help you decide, based on your reason for asking the original question.

Scenario 1: Sport Fighting
-The two fighters are physically equal
-Both fighters are are adhering to the rules of their sport
-Both fighters are experienced and equally skilled in their respective discipline.

In this scenario I would expect the kick boxer have a slight advantage because he has twice as many options for striking at his disposal. Hands & feet vs just hands.

Scenario 2: Sport Fighting
-The two fighters are physically equal
-Both fighters are are adhering to the rules of their sport
-Both fighters are fairly new to their discipline...say less than 1 yr.

I would expect the traditional boxer to have the advantage in this fight, for exactly the opposite reason as in Scenario 1. The idea of practicing one punch a thousand time is better than a thousand punches one time. The traditional boxer will, in my experience gain skill more quickly, because he has only two weapons to master vs four.

Scenario 3: Combative Fighting