Bong Soo Han and his Style

S

SThiess

Hi Everyone,

I am looking into studying Hapkido and I am in the L.A. area. Now I know that Master Bong Soo Han has his school here in Santa Monica. can anyone please give me some feedback about his teachings, his form of Hapkido ? Is he good ? As people like to say. I know that he was highly respected by the founder of the system I am studying right know, SGM Ed Parker. But maybe someone has somemore first hand information he would like to share. Or are there other forms or teachers of Hapkido your would suggest ?? I would really appreciate as much information as possible. Thanks Folks !!

OP
D

Disco

He has a good reputation, as you also pointed out (Mr. Parker).
As far as his style, Hapkido is Hapkido, the same as a rose is a rose. If you have the opportunity to study with the person who is credited with introducing Hapkido to America, you make me envious. Hope this helps, I think you will enjoy Hapkido.

Chris from CT

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I don't have first hand info, but I have also heard good things about Bong Soo Han.

Originally posted by Disco
As far as his style, Hapkido is Hapkido, the same as a rose is a rose.

Being a Hapkido practitioner, I would have to say that there are big differences between certain styles of Hapkido.

From the the inside, it's like saying that all Kenpo/Kempo is the same. As we all know this is just not the case.

If you have the opportunity to study with the person who is credited with introducing Hapkido to America, you make me envious.

I wish I could get on the mat with him. Enjoy it! :)

Take care.

greendragon

Green Belt
Reaction score