Big Guys

kuniggety

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
I have been doing BJJ for ~ 2 years now. I haven't been promoted to blue belt yet but I'm starting to hang with a lot of the blues belts and can, for the most part, wipe the mat with most of the other white belts. There is a new guy that is about 315 lbs. I am 195 lbs and as basically the only other "big guy" I've been rolling with him a few times. I am having trouble pulling off anything on him. I've taken his back and gone for RNCs and bow and arrow chokes with no avail because of no discernable neck as soon as he lowers his chin. I've gone for arm bars and because he is so big and strong, he can hold on enough to hold on with his other hand and I can't even break it by bracing with my inner arm around his leg and holding onto his belt for support and using my outer leg to push on his arm. I've tried to triangle him but I can't slide my foot up under my knee for a solid lock because he is too big. I actually got foot locked by him the other day because he trapped my foot between his legs and no matter what I did I couldn't get it back out and, after going for a transition, it put it into a worse position and he was just crushing my foot. I was wondering what peoples' go to moves were for folks when they're completely outclassed in size?

drop bear

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
You need to create angles in your guard. Especially to make that triangle work.

With the arm bar you can roll off towards his head rather than straight back. Or kick him with your thigh untill he lets go.

And if you cant get their neck either face crush them or transition to an arm bar.

I tend to keylock big guys as they generally have crap shoulders.

Brian R. VanCise

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
When someone is way bigger than me I stay away from the mount and work crossbody more. Like drop bear said I also attack their shoulders with bent arm locks and reverse bent arm locks.

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni