Bert

Bert

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi
My names is Bert

I am new to this web site, new to the martial arts and experiencing some difficulty in learning the art that I have chosen

I am presently practicing with the staff, I have been for the last couple years, I have hurt mysel quite a few times, mostly from spinning it radically, busting my nose a couple times and popping myself in the head and ears,

Can some one tell me the use of this weapon in acient times
my staff is 8 " 6 " long
icon9.gif

MA-Caver

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Bert said:
Hi
My names is Bert

I am new to this web site, new to the martial arts and experiencing some difficulty in learning the art that I have chosen

I am presently practicing with the staff, I have been for the last couple years, I have hurt mysel quite a few times, mostly from spinning it radically, busting my nose a couple times and popping myself in the head and ears,

Can some one tell me the use of this weapon in acient times
my staff is 8 " 6 " long
icon9.gif
Welcome Bert. Welcome and be true.

I would suggest that you find an accredited MA school which teaches the use of a Bo-staff rather than the trial and erroneous ways you've been teaching yourself. The staff is a powerful weapon in the right hands, and also in the wrong hands... but (as you've stated) it'll be you that will be hurting and not your opponent(s). There are those on this board who can help you find the right art/school should you wish to continue your studies of the Bo Staff.

SFC JeffJ

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Welcome to MT! You'll get lots of good advice and help here.

JeffJ

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Welcome, and happy posting! :wavey:

I would agree with MA-Caver - you need to find an instructor. People here can provide lots of good advice - but can't provide the feedback that a qualified instructor can when instructing you and watching how you perform.

stone_dragone

Senior Master
MT Mentor