Becoming stronger without gaining weight?

Meraki

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm a green tag tkd student and ideally I want to compete in the 52kg and under category as the women tend to be a bit shorter than myself and this would give me more reach with my legs.

My question is whether it is possible to gain strength in my punches (and kicks too) without increasing too much weight/muscle? Or could I even lose weight? I'm not au fait with the biomechanics of it all, but my slight build is not one meant for withstanding a lot of damage and I'm someone who essentially has keep a distance, then pounce, and then get out straight away.

Whilst I can punch and kick OK when sparring, they do not have much impact at all and I want to learn to "spark" my opponent. Not in such a way to severely hurt but I want enough power behind it that its quick and powerful enough for them to feel it and back-off. I've got the agility but not the power. Right now, my kicks are great on the spot but neither punches or kicks have much power during sparring. (My stats are: fem, 54kg and 5'5").

Does increasing strength help much? Will losing weight compromise strength too much? Or is it technique and learning the proper execution that matters most?

Thanks.

Danny T

Senior Master
Reaction score
The average person is strong enough though gaining more strength (to a point) is helpful however, it is Proper technique executed with proper timing that is more important.

jobo

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm a green tag tkd student and ideally I want to compete in the 52kg and under category as the women tend to be a bit shorter than myself and this would give me more reach with my legs.