bad reputation

jagenheie

White Belt
Reaction score
i have been pracicing shaolin-do for 6 1/2 months now i am satisfied witht the instructors the material and i hvae found no reason to disagree with the history as presented with the exception of a few embelishments and i was wondering why my style has such a bad rep from what i can figure it is from like 2 schools that are the exception not the rule that everyone takes as being the entire style then they liberally talk about the badness of the art while having never seen or pericipating in a class and it is mostly the lower ranks that people have a problem with of course we can't do things perfect yet we just got it

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Don't sweat it...It seems EVERY discipline and sub-discipline has some sort of negativity attached to it's name..Train hard and IGNORE the BS..

stoneheart

Purple Belt
Reaction score
This topic has been hashed to death all over the internet. I think the basic summary is that aside from the "shady history", shaolin-do people simply don't move like other CMA people. They lack a quality of lightness and flow characteristic to Chinese systems according to posts I've read on other forums. But I'm a karate guy so what do I know?

Does it really matter, though? If you like the training, stick with it. There's a big shaolin-do school in my city. They always look like they are having fun and getting good exercise when I see them practicing.

OP
J

jagenheie

White Belt
Reaction score
i do enjoy it and it is a lot of fun i just hate seeing the art that i am didicating myself to recieve such a bad name but i guess that every art will some day or another what do you mean by shady history ive learned a bit about our history as presented and it seems at least as plausable as most martial arts origins whatever you have a problem with i can try to answer the questions

KempoGuy06

Grandmaster
Reaction score