any help would be great

bradtash

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
hi everyone.
i am studying to become a police officer.
i have 1 year before i can apply so am wanting to take up a form of martial art.
in my area i have the choice of ZDK (zen do kai) or muay thai and wing chun is 45 min away.
are any of these suitable?
i know that any help would be great but i want to learn the most affective for this kind of work, keeping in mind self defence is probably more important then striking.
any help would be great thanks.

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
hi everyone.
i have 1 year before i can apply so am wanting to take up a form of martial art.
in my area i have the choice of ZDK (zen do kai) or muay thai and wing chun is 45 min away.
i know that any help would be great but i want to learn the most affective for this kind of work, keeping in mind self defence is probably more important then striking.
Any martial art can be helpful in law enforcement. The manner of training is really more important than the particular style. You want someone who understands the difference between the idealized world of the dojo/dojang/gym and reality, and you want the training to reflect that.

I've never seen anyone trained in Zen Do Kai, so I can't have a good opinion of it. Wing Chun would probably take more time than you have to become really effective. Muay Thai is a great kickboxing style, and will get you in great shape (if you train several times a week)... but it's a sport style. It's designed around rules. Crooks and ogres tend not to follow rules, for some reason!