An introduction

Misplaced Swordsman

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello fellow martial artists. I look forward to giving and receiving advice from everyone as well as simply discussing and appreciating the art that fills every fighting spirit. First, and introduction to myself.

I am a self taught relative beginner. I have studied seriously only for about a year and base most of my martial arts on observations both in reality as well as less realistic outlets such as movies, shows, video games, etc. I am not a fool and realize that not everything on TV can transfer to reality, yet without imagination and ideas how can one ever expand their styles? My most closely followed styles are Mantis and Tiger kung fu as well as a recent fascination with Wing Tsun. In addition I have a passion for Kenjustu although my body and sword are my only masters. I am not a violent person and will not go out of my way to prove myself. As a matter of fact, aside from sparring matches I have never been in a fight. "The best fight is one that's been avoided" - something I probably saw on a movie somewhere. I find that purpose drives me to surpass my physical limits in just about anything I do from martial arts to basketball and I find it in friends and family.

I look forward to speaking to fellow martial artists with common interests and meet new friends. If anyone would like to show me the ropes of the site I'd appreciate it. Thanks!

K-man

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Welcome to MT. I find the 'self taught' bit interesting. I actually tried that myself about 45 years ago with very limited success. It was probably a good thing I never had to use those 'skills' in real life. :)

Anyhow, dive in, ask questions and enjoy the fellowship.

:wavey:

donnaTKD

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
welcome :)

i too find the self taught bit interesting :)

i study muay thai and think that i would've done more damage to me without all the coaching sessions that i've had over the years ;)