A police takedown.

drop bear

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score

There are different versions of this. I tend to do a full back take and sort of roll their hips with my arms.There is the knee knock which goes the other way. And there are wrestling rides which play with this idea as well.

But fighting to that position is super smart. Not just because the takedown is solid. But because it is a lot easier to stay there than it is to get someone off you from there.

So even if everything goes south. You are not in this, I have tried an armlock, failed and am now standing directly in front of a guy in reach of their face punches. Which is a really bad place to be.

And it gives you a body part to attack if you are working as a group. Someone already has an arm and is being rag dolled the hip attack is still available.

Jared Traveler

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
I was a full time Police officer for about 22 years. I have done the straight arm bar take down effectively on big and small people maybe 25 times or more. So yes, sorry Mike but...it works. It's about timing, not muscling it. I also had a few counters that worked great if the straight arm bar failed.

I also have used the one he shows in the video a couple of times.

Holmejr

Black Belt
Reaction score
An arm bar while blocking, sweeping or kicking the opponents weight bearing leg plus your forward/downward motion is very effective. The arm bar is not a passive technique. You’re not just putting pressure on the opponents elbow, you’re going through it. Pulling up on the wrist down on the elbow.
With that said the back takedown is also excellent if you are positive that it’s only one on one. It takes more practice, timing and commitment to implement. Especially on pavement…lol
In reality all well trained good technique are welcomed and sometimes needed.

Last edited:

Jared Traveler

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score