41 year old newbie here with a question

level7

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hey!

I've started down the path that will hopefully one day lead me to a black belt in Taekwondo.

I am amazed at my 7 year old's daughter's natural ability to kick really high (her head height) with little effort. We both started at the same time.

I on the other hand, have trouble kicking from the side. Unless my standing leg heel is pointed towards the target my kicks are low and painful at the hips. While I understand "painful" is subjective, it is not a sharp pain but more of a range of motion pain. Is this normal and will it get better with stretching and more practice or am I doomed to improve my hand strikes and blocks from kicks?

It sucks to get old, I regret I had not picked this up long ago. I think I would have been pretty good as I am quicker or as quick as some of the younger fighters during sparring but I have no leg game :(

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
All you need is time and proper strecthing and you will be there as well.

PS you shoulld go to the meet and greet section and introduce yourself.

JadecloudAlchemist

Master of Arts
Reaction score

hpulley

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I'm not in TKD and I'm not quite as old (36, nearly 37) but I can say that while you can improve your flexibility for sure and raise your kicks some, you'll never be like a 7 year old girl! Similarly my kids are so flexible that it is hard to believe but after years of sitting or standing the same position and just plain age I bet they won't be so flexible either. Will you ever be able to kick someone in the head now? I don't know... some people can regain more flexibility than others but it is possible that you never will. Good luck and do lots of stretching!

Oh, and something which is good in karate/kobudo is to have a partner help you stretch. This definitely helps to open stuff up.

Dr. Mantis

White Belt
Reaction score