2nd Degree Material

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
http://www.network54.com/Forum/326583/thread/1255805341/Nidan+syllabus

Found this old thread over at the SJ Kenpo forum. Thought it looked pretty interesting, but noticed the handful of replies, so I thought I'd repost here, in hopes that it'll spark some discussion. :)

So, what exactly is the advanced ground defense and the other advanced material?

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Hi Mike,

I'll add some comments here, since I'm the Michael that Ted referenced in the post you've linked to.

I cannot speak with absolute authority, since I've not finished with the nidan curriculum. I've managed to work my way thru partway, and that's it.

My wife and I have been studying with Ted Sumner for going on four years now. I had earned my Shodan in Tracy kenpo back in 1986 or 1987, something like that, while I was still in high school in a small town in Wisconsin. A couple years after that I found myself without a kenpo teacher, and life took me to college and eventually San Francisco. For years, I was away from kenpo, studying other methods. I dedicated a number of years obsessively studying capoeira before drifting away from that and into the Chinese arts which I continue to study to this day.

A few years ago I found myself on discussion forums like Martialtalk and Kenpotalk, engaging in discussions and debates often with other kenpoists. I realized my own separation from kenpo, and rekindled my interest in it. Honestly, I often had felt that I was finished with kenpo, yet something kept pulling me back to it. So I sought out instruction in this area and found Mr. Sumner in San Jose.