What is your level of education OUTSIDE the dojo?

L

lifewise

I have noticed that many martial artists / instructors read extensively. Many research their art/style to an almost obsessive extent. These are great attributes but are not the same as a formal post secondary education.

How many instructors out there, or assistant instructors (anyone who works with other students in a leadership capacity) have completed a post secondary education in sociology, psychology, criminology, or other human science?

For those who regularly work with children, how many have taken official coaching courses, or have any post secondary education in teaching?

:asian:

OP
B

Black Bear

I have a four-year thesis-based B.A. (Hon) in Psychology, and a M.Ed in Educational Psychology in the Learning Development, and Assessment program. I am "chartering" as a psychologist (similar to what "apprenticeship" is in a trade). My day job is doing psych assessments. No doctorate for me, thank you. I want to start making good money, get a house, wife, and kids. Maybe in middle age.

I used to be a real psychology supremacist, because I was enamored with the knowledge that is yielded by rigorous experimental methodology and sophisticated statistical technique, but over the years have learned to appreciate the contributions and epistemologies of other disciplines. I'm also learning to appreciate the role played by life experience and what the wisdom of years offers that my education did not.