Ultimate Ten MA

K

KoshoBob

Any one see this show last night on TLC as a kick off to the Testosterone week?

I don't remember all or the order so corrections are welcome.

1. Shoalin Kung Fu
2. Karate
3. TKD
4. Juko Kai - Combat Ki
5. Aikido
7. Muay Thai
8. ninjutsu
9. Kali
10. BJJ

OP
K

KoshoBob

How could I forget Krav Maga. teaching people those gun defenses was so bad I guess I tried to force it from my mind :rolleyes:

Dronak

Black Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score
Drat, I missed it. I knew that "Testosterone Week" was coming up, too. I saw a commercial for it a couple weeks back and thought I should check it out, at least one(s) on martial arts. How was the program? I just looked at TLC's web site and that was the only MA program for the week. Darn, now I have to wait for a rerun. :( If you're right on Shaolin Kung Fu being number 1, that's pretty cool because I'm studying a form of that right now. ;)

OP
T

Ty K. Doe

might be a stupid question, but is BJJ = brazilian jiujitsu?

Dronak

Black Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score
Yes, it should be Ty K. Doe. There was a thread about MA abbreviations not too long ago. You might want to try to find it and check it out if you're not too familiar with some of the acronyms used around here or other places.

OP
D

Dennis_Mahon

1. Shoalin Kung Fu
2. Karate
3. TKD
4. Juko Kai - Combat Ki
5. Aikido
7. Muay Thai
8. ninjutsu
9. Kali
10. BJJ​

Not quite:

10. Brazillian Jiu-jutsu
9. Kali
8. Krav Magna
7. Tae Kwon Do
6. Akido
5. Juko-kai
4. Ninjutsu
3. Muay Thai
2. Karate
1. Shaolin Kung Fu​

I have no idea what kind of standard they used for their selection process.
The "Ninjutsu" footage ( the ninjas in combat piece) was the same they used for their piece with the Genbukan for the Discovery Channel's "Martial Arts" series; the difference was that the style highlighted this time was the Bujinkan.
The Akido segment was also a rehash of the earlier stuff.