Guess Instructors

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
How often do you and your school bring in guess instructor to help with the younger student and has it been beneficial to the growth of your school?
Terry

I bring in guest instructors for the benefit of all students, and the frequency varies; generally, it happens when I can't be there for some reason. As a school teacher, I miss class several times a year for parent/teacher conferences, so I invite guest instructors for those nights.

All the black belts in my school teach in one way or another - either they teach class when I can't come (illness has, happily, not been much of a problem - but one night my car key broke off in my trunk, and one of the BBs had to teach while I was waiting for a friend to show up with my spare key), or they take smaller groups or individual students and help them work on various things. If needed, the senior color belts teach as well - and in the case of my 2 students with developmental delays (both adults), everyone of every rank helps teach them, because they, more than other students, need individual attention, explanations, and feedback... and it's amazing how much better the intermediate color belts have gotten from having to analyze what they do to help those 2 students.

In my opinion, it always helps students (of any age) to hear a different voice and a different perspective - even if the person is saying the same thing, a different voice is sometimes has more impact; hearing the same thing from someone else can underscore a point, and a different explanation can make more sense or emphasize a different point in a way that helps students.

Kacey said: