Differences between HKD and Kuk Sool

J

jwreck

I've read a few places that Kuk Sool Won is merely repackaged HKD with a new name. A first, I was offended (Kuk Sool being my art of choice), then that gave way to mostly confusion. I can see some similarities, but not really. I studied HKD in Washington State but quit after two months because it seemed so limited. There were no kicks above the waist, and there were really very few strikes at all. Kuk Sool has a large arsenal of strikes as well as locks and throws. I've also read that HKD has basically all the kicks of TKD, so maybe the school I went to for HKD was some bastardized version? Anyway, I'd like to get your thoughts.

OP
F

fringe_dweller

Would love to help but I really don't know.

Bruce is a bit of a historian - I'm sure he could enlighten you as to the differences.

Grant

glad2bhere

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Dear Jwreck:

Answering your question in any kind of respectful detail would fill-up a whole lot more bandwidth than I think would be allowed here. However, let me give you some thoughts and maybe we can trade things back and forth to get you the information that you need. here are some things to consider.

1.) Korea after WW II wanted to identify a martial history or martial science around which to rally the citizenry of the time. Returning Ex-pats from around the Pacific Rim brought back their experiences and the single most organized was the MA of Japan. Many folks tried to form various amalgams of less organized Korean traditions from before WW II with the post WW II Japanese traditions with an eye towards forming a definitive national martial science. In their turn TKD, TSD, HKD, Kumdo and Kyudo all had their advocates for identifying their particular favorite as the premier Korean art.

2.) In Hapkido there were many sub-groups who stirred together various mixes of technical skills. Coming from Choi you can generally split into two factions--- Early Choi and Late Choi.