Technique discussion - deflecting, redirecting and capturing the fist

Z

zac_duncan

Hi, my name is Zac Duncan, I'm a HKD 1st dahn in St. Louis and I've been studying for about 10 years. I just singed up on the AikidoJournal site so some of you might've encontered me there.

I'm a little surprsed that there isn't more discussion of technique on this board and others, so I thought I'd get it started. I'm curious about how other schools and other hapkido-related arts perform defense against a punch so here's my questions.

Typically, at my school the parry is achieved by putting your hand at the elbow of the punching arm and sliding it back towards you while simultaneuosly executing a step forward at a 45 degree angle. Capturing the fist is primarily done by moving your hips with the punch beyond the point of the parry and sliding your grab down the arm to the fist.

When I studied Kuk Sool Won, punch captures were often achieved by moving back away from the strike and catching the punch in an X block.

These two methods are very different, and both seem to offer various advantages and disadvantages. What other methods of deflection and entrapment are used by the varied practitioners out there. Which methods do you prefer?

Cheers!
-zac

Kumbajah

Purple Belt
Reaction score
We use both methods and others - different tools for different jobs. The elbow to fist method seems to work best with a "committed" punch. Someone swinging for the bleachers if you will. The x capture seems to work better with a less committed attack. More of a jabbing punch. True jab is extremely extremely difficult to snag.

Most of our foot work is at angles (Almost all). There are a few cases of stepping back but it is to parry not catch. Few people can counter moving back (Ali is the only one that comes to mind) Its like trying to out run a train. Much easier to get off the tracks.

Brian

OP
Z

zac_duncan