Chin na training

Wing Woo Gar

Senior Master
Reaction score
Has anyone done any extensive Chin Na training? Would anyone care to share their experiences? I have been lucky to meet Dr Yang Jwing Ming and live just down the road from him. I started training Chin na with him this past summer and I should be through all the level one stuff by new year. I still teach my Gung fu classes in addition and a few of my training brothers and 2 of my students have begun Chin na as well. I’m 52 and have several old hand injuries that make level one Chin na practice a tad bit painful. I am enjoying the training immensely as I am often just one of three students with Dr Yang spending the entire time with us. Yesterday we trained for about 90 minutes before I went to teach my Gung fu class. I feel like it adds something extra to my workout energy to do Chin na early before gung fu training.

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
I trained some Qinna with Dr Yang when he was still in Boston. My experience is it was painful. Trained some with my Yang Shifu, experience there was it was surprising and painful. Trained some with one of my Xingyiquan Shifus...again...it was painful

Kung Fu Wang

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Chin Na is a good training to understand the "key point". In striking art, a punch on the chess, or a punch on the belly don't make much difference. People intend to ignore the "key point". In Chin Na, the key point is very important.

For example, the key point for:

1. Wrist lock - raise elbow. Most people understand to sink wrist. But some people don't know raise elbow.
2. Head lock - elbow point down. Most people's head lock won't work because their elbow is pointing horizontally.
3. ...

MA training is to find the right key to open the right lock. With the right key, you can open a lock effortless.

OP
W

Wing Woo Gar

Senior Master
Reaction score