Car Fu

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer (or a cop) this is not legal advice. My opinion only.

When you are in your car, you are wearing bogu (armor). It is both a help and a hindrance with regard to self-defense.

Some folks have a belief that they are not allowed to intentionally hit someone with their car. While this is normally true, when we're talking about self-defense, it's just another deadly weapon. Like a gun or a knife. It can and will maim and kill other people. However, there is nothing in the self-defense laws that says you can't use it for legal self-defense against a deadly threat (in places and circumstances where deadly force is permitted in self-defense at all, that is).

A car is a dangerous place to be if you are approached by attackers. If a person or people manage to make it to your door, they can keep your door closed quite easily, denying you the ability to escape the vehicle. If they have a gun, well, you have heard the term 'like shooting fish in a barrel,' haven't you? You're the fish, in this case, and your car is the barrel.

If they block your car in, once again, you typically can't easily escape.

Therefore, do not allow this to happen to you.

Remember that your car is armor. It can trap you, but it can also protect you. You can use it as a battering ram. You can use it to escape at high speed.

My personal opinion is this: I would never allow an obviously-angry road-rage type driver to exit his vehicle and step up to my car door with me inside.

Exiting the vehicle puts me in a dangerous situation. Now I am going to have to fight mostly likely and I don't know if he has friends in his car, if he's armed, or if he was actually just planning to steal my car (a common tactic in Detroit, FYI). Staying in my car is equally dangerous, for reasons stated above.