Can I claim self-defense if.......

IcemanSK

El Conquistador nim!
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Let's say I initiate a fight with someone, & during the course of the fight they get the better of me. But what my opponent doesn't know is that I have a gun. When he's getting the better of me, I pull my gun & shoot & kill him.

Can I claim self defense in a court of law later? Do I have a case?

We've got a few lawyers here. I'd love to hear their thoughts as well as everyone else's.

Cyriacus

Senior Master
Reaction score
Well, this is just Theoretical, Im not a Lawyer.

But wouldnt it be Manslaughter?
Since it was Self Defense, but it was also Lethal Force. I cant remember if something can be Self Defense as well as Criminal, or if it has to slide right over to Manslaughter, or if Im saying Manslaughter and meaning something else.
But Id be leaning toward Manslaughter.

Dirty Dog

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm no lawyer, but I don't think a claim of self defense is likely to be convincing when, by your own statement, you started the fight.

Jenna

Senior Master
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Let's say I initiate a fight with someone, & during the course of the fight they get the better of me. But what my opponent doesn't know is that I have a gun. When he's getting the better of me, I pull my gun & shoot & kill him.

We've got a few lawyers here. I'd love to hear their thoughts as well as everyone else's.