Wing Chun or Northern Style Praying Mantis- ???

lhall13

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm a current student of the Mike Foster Yoshukai Karate and I am wanting to branch towards a Chinese style of martial arts in a few years. I'm not someone that just jumps into something without some serious consideration and after looking around in my area I came across to Grandmasters each of their respective styles. There is Grandmaster Lee Swift and Grandmaster Pui Chan. Grandmaster Swift teaches Wing Chun and claims his lineage to the sons of Yip Man. Then there is also Grandmaster Pui Chan who teaches Northern Style Praying Mantis and claims lineage to Grandmaster Lee Kwan Shan. My confusion lies in my lack of understanding to Chinese martial arts. Whats the main differences between the two mentioned styles? I'm trying to find something that would be a good addition to my martial arts training. I only want to train in the Yoshukai Karate and a Chinese martial arts- any advice would be fantastic!

LDH

clfsean

Senior Master
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Nutshell... broad wide ranging strokes...

Wing Chun... Rent the movie Ip Man. Short, stand up, basic ideas, complex training for maximum efficiency. I'm not a WC guy.

Praying Mantis... Not Wing Chun. Wah Lum Mantis is long ranged in striking & kicking. I've studied PM before.

In both cases, it's easy to get lose sight of the forest due to trees. Know what I mean? Biggest question... what do you want?

WC_lun

Senior Master
Reaction score
This is a generalization, but it is usually on the mark. Southern or short arm styles, which Wing Chun is one of, mainly concentrate on the hands and use narrower stances. Northern styles tend to have wider stances, include more kicks, and have more twisting motions. There are good teachers of each type and there are frauds as well. Check out the schools before you make a decision.

seasoned

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score