why did you start karate

drummingman

Blue Belt
Reaction score
why did you all start taking karate in the first place? what was it that moved you to start the martial arts, and karate specifically over other styles? what has karatedone for you in your life?

twendkata71

Black Belt
Reaction score
I started training because it excited me,watching martial arts movies on friday nights, we had a couple of people in my school that were into it. Frankly I started in the style that I am now because it was the closest to where I lived and I didn't like the other school in the area. Had I went to the school 20 miles away I would probably be training in Bando right now. Personally I was fascinated with the Japanese/Okinawan and Chinese cultures, there were no kung fu schools in the area, so I went with the local karate club, which taught Shotokan/Seiei kan, later I found a local Matsubayashi Shorin ryu school and trained there for a while. I would have to say that karate training has taught me to be a more independant,stronger person and a better father and husband. It has also taught me to use my mind instead of just using my muscles.

JasonASmith

Black Belt
Reaction score
It's all about the Sensei...
I walked into the Dojo, watched two classes, and knew that it would be a CRIME not to go to him...I've never regretted that decision.

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Sick of getting my butt beat by bigger dudes..I heard an interview with a local Sensei who was asked about defending himself against bigger guys.."All that meat you can hang in the butcher shop, it means nothing"...That's all it took..

michaeledward

Grandmaster
Reaction score